Skip to Main Content
COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC campuses are closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.

Business Continuity Plan

The College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (CAHSS) has developed a business continuity plan to ensure that our academic advising support will continue to be available to students through remote formats as part of UMBC’s COVID-19 response.

CAHSS Advising Assistance

For individual advising appointments regarding registration or other advising concerns, students should first contact their departmental advisor via email for assistance. The CAHSS Advising Directory below provides contact information for all advising contacts under the College of Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences.

CAHSS Departmental Advising Contacts

Academic
Department/Program
Advising Coordinator/Contact Email Address
Dean’s Office James Hamilton jamham@umbc.edu
Africana Studies Gloria Chuku chuku@umbc.edu
American Studies Erin Minnigh eminnigh@umbc.edu
Ancient Studies David Rosenbloom drose@umbc.edu
Asian Studies Julie Rosenthal asianstudies@umbc.edu
Dance Carol Hess hessvait@umbc.edu
Dean’s Office /Economics Robert Pawloski rpawloski@umbc.edu
Education Vickie Williams vwilli5@umbc.edu
Emergency Health Services Jaeyoung Yang jaeyang1@umbc.edu
English Jody Shipka shipka@umbc.edu
Gender, Women’s & Sexuality Studies Kate Drabinski drabinski@umbc.edu
Geography & Environmental System Alan Yeakley yeakley@umbc.edu
Global Studies Grace Castle castl@umbc.edu
History Amy Froide froide@umbc.edu
Media & Communication Studies Samirah Hassan shassan1@umbc.edu
Modern Languages, Linguistics, & I.C. Erin Hogan ekhogan@umbc.edu
Music Joseph Siu jsiu@umbc.edu
Philosophy Steve Yalowitz yalowitz@umbc.edu
Political Science Ryan Wilkens polisciadvising@umbc.edu
Psychology Debbie Paul dpaul@umbc.edu
Sociology, Anthropology,
& HAPP
Debbie Sanford dsanford@umbc.edu
Theatre Eric Abele abele@umbc.edu
Visual Arts Brittany Stephenson bstep@umbc.edu

If students still need additional support, they can schedule through our youcanbookme.com and the link is https://jameshamilton-1.youcanbook.me. At this time, all scheduled appointments will be conducted via telephone or WebEx, for which you will receive instructions for when you schedule an appointment.

Other Issues: Students are encouraged to contact CAHSS Academic Advising by using the following link: https://cahssadvising.umbc.edu/contact-us/ with general questions or concerns.